novembre 8, 2017

Réduction significative des coûts dans les soins de la MPOC avec un dispositif simple exempt de médicament

Le dispositif Aerobika* s’avère être une option de traitement économique dans la prise en charge des patients atteints de la MPOC après exacerbation.

Le dispositif Aerobika* (Trudell Medical International) est une option de traitement économique dans la prise en charge des exacerbations de la MPOC, selon une étude publiée [aujourd’hui] dans le International Journal of COPD.1 Cette étude, qui a utilisé les données de textes publiés et les listes tarifaires nationales pour modéliser le rapport coût-efficacité du dispositif Aerobika*, montre qu’il procure à la fois des avantages cliniques et des économies directes sur les coûts médicaux de soins post-exacerbation dans une population atteinte de MPOC.

La MPOC est une cause majeure (et croissante) de morbidité, de mortalité et d’utilisation des soins de santé, l’hospitalisation pour exacerbation aiguë étant le premier facteur de coût.2 Lorsqu’un patient connait une exacerbation, le risque d’en subir d’autres est multiplié par deux à quatre3, et de nombreux patients en connaissent deux ou trois chaque année.4 Pas moins d’un patient sur cinq sortant de l’hôpital à la suite d’une exacerbation y sera réadmis sous 30 jours.5

Le fardeau économique du système de santé associé à la MPOC est important; rien qu’aux États-Unis, le coût de la MPOC en 2010 était estimé à 50 milliards de dollars US; 30 milliards de dollars de dépenses directes en soins de santé, le reste étant imputable aux coûts indirects tels que les pertes de productivité et les coûts pour les familles.6 Environ la moitié des coûts directs pourrait être attribuée aux soins hospitaliers pour les cas d’exacerbation de la MPOC,6 ce qui corrobore les objectifs de traitement des directives GOLD visant à minimiser l’impact négatif des exacerbations et de prévenir les récidives.2 Les systèmes de soins de santé de nombreux pays reconnaissent le problème et des politiques sont mises en œuvre pour essayer d’y remédier; le programme Medicare de réduction des réadmissions à l’hôpital aux États-Unis pénalise les hôpitaux pour toutes les réadmissions après 30 jours suivant une hospitalisation pour exacerbation aiguë de la MPOC.7

Le dispositif Aerobika* est un dispositif de pression expiratoire positive à oscillations (PEPO) portable et exempt de médicament qui a été conçu pour répondre aux défis structurels et fonctionnels des voies respiratoires des patients atteints de la MPOC. Lorsque le patient expire à travers le dispositif, cela l’aide à ouvrir les voies respiratoires, à diminuer et à expulser le mucus des poumons et parfois aussi à améliorer l’administration de médicaments. On a démontré chez les patients atteints de MPOC une amélioration des fonctions pulmonaires, de la capacité d’exercice et de la qualité de vie8 et une étude récente en conditions réelles a montré que le dispositif réduisait les taux d’exacerbation pendant les 30 jours critiques qui suivent une exacerbation.9 Exploitant les données de cette dernière étude pour apporter un éclairage concret, les auteurs de la présente analyse ont montré que le dispositif Aerobika* permet des économies (553 $ par patient) et des résultats améliorés (l’équivalent de 6 exacerbations en moins pour 100 patients par an) comparé à l’absence de PEP/PEPO et conclu que le dispositif permet un traitement économique pour les patients atteints de MPOC post-exacerbation.

Les auteurs ont également utilisé divers scénarios pour étudier la probabilité que le bénéfice se poursuive pendant une année complète et ont estimé d’autres avantages cliniques et financiers (21 exacerbations pour 100 patients par an; des économies de 1 952 $ par patient). L’auteur Dominic Coppolo, vice-président en stratégies cliniques et développement MBA, RRT, FAARC, a remarqué : « Notre modèle a mis en évidence les avantages cliniques et économiques du dispositif Aerobika* pendant la période critique de 30 jours qui suit une exacerbation.. Compte tenu du lourd fardeau de la MPOC – en particulier les coûts liés aux exacerbations – au sein de la population américaine, nous nous attendons à ce que même un petit bénéfice ait un impact important sur le système de soins de santé ». Il a poursuivi en disant que d’autres études seront nécessaires pour confirmer l’efficacité à long terme, mais ces données laissent toutefois entendre que ces avantages perdurent en cas d’utilisation à long terme.

« Avec la pression croissante pour l’amélioration des soins et la réduction des hospitalisations, l’étude pragmatique publiée précédemment montrant une diminution des exacerbations pendant la période critique de 30 jours qui suivent une exacerbation nous a fourni des renseignements utiles sur les avantages de l’intégration du dispositif Aerobika* à la pratique clinique standard », à noté le Dr Jason Suggett (directeur de groupe Science et technologie chez TMI). « Cette nouvelle analyse nous donne à présent les preuves évidentes que ces bénéfices cliniques se traduiraient en termes de rapport coût-efficacité dans cette population post-exacerbation ». De plus, nous venons tout juste de présenter de nouvelles données à CHEST 2017 démontrant que le moteur exclusif de pression et d’oscillation de l’appareil Aerobika* génère des oscillations à un pourcentage élevé de façon efficace à chaque expiration et à des amplitudes de haute pression constante. L’appareil Aerobika* a présenté un rendement efficace et optimal en ce qui concerne l’efficacité thérapeutique : ce qui représente près du double en comparaison avec d’autres appareils testés.10

À propos de Trudell Medical International (TMI)

Trudell Medical International conçoit, développe, fabrique et distribue un large éventail de dispositifs médicaux et abrite un Laboratoire mondial et centre de recherche sur les aérosols. Du produit phare de marque AeroChamber* de chambres de retenue valvées (CRV) au dernier dispositif primé Aerobika*, en passant par les produits et systèmes conçus sur mesure, nos produits destinés à la prise en charge des problèmes respiratoires sont les meilleurs de leur catégorie et se vendent dans plus de 110 pays. Leur efficacité a été validée dans des centaines d’articles évalués par des pairs parus dans diverses revues médicales.

À propos du dispositif Aerobika*

Le dispositif Aerobika* est un dispositif de pression expiratoire positive à oscillations (PEPO) portable, robuste, facile à utiliser et exempt de médicament conçu pour aider à expulser le mucus des poumons, ouvrir les voies respiratoires et améliorer l’administration de médicaments. Lorsque le patient expire à travers le dispositif, la résistance intermittente crée une dynamique unique de pression et d’oscillations positives qui ouvre les voies respiratoires, aident à expulser le mucus vers les voies respiratoires supérieures où il peut être expectoré. Le dispositif Aerobika* est conçu pour fonctionner indépendamment de l’angle d’utilisation ou du débit et permet une circulation directe de l’aérosol pour les patients utilisant un nébuliseur pour l’administration de médicaments. Il a été prouvé que le dispositif Aerobika* améliore considérablement la capacité vitale forcée (CVF), la distance au test de marche de 6 minutes (6MWD) et la note au Questionnaire respiratoire de St. George (QRSG) des patients atteints de MPOC.8 Le dispositif Aerobika* est disponible au Canada, au Mexique et dans certains pays européens y compris le Royaume-Uni et l’Allemagne via Trudell Medical International et aux États-Unis via Monaghan Medical Corporation.

À propos de l’étude

Un modèle de Markov sur un an a été utilisé afin d’estimer le rapport coût-efficacité du dispositif Aerobika* chez les patients ayant connu une exacerbation au cours du mois précédent, ou une population en soins de post-exacerbation, avec des données provenant de textes publiés et des listes tarifaires nationales. À partir d’une hypothèse de base selon laquelle les bienfaits du dispositif Aerobika* dureraient 30 jours, il a été établi que des économies (553 $ par patient) et des résultats améliorés (c.-à-d., 6 exacerbations en moins par 100 patients par an) sont réalisés comparativement à l’absence d’utilisation d’un dispositif de pression expiratoire positive/PEPO. En supposant un scénario dans lequel l’effet se prolongerait au-delà de l’estimation prudente de 30 jours, le dispositif Aerobika* a continué à montrer ses bienfaits (21 exacerbations pour 100 patients par an; une économie de 1 952 $ par patient). Des analyses de sensibilité à variable unique ont été menées pour toutes les variables saisies, augmentant ou diminuant l’effet de 20 %, afin de déterminer l’impact de la variation des coûts et des effets sur la santé; les résultats ont confirmé la validité des conclusions de l’étude de base.

Pour tout renseignement médical, veuillez contacter
Jason Suggett PhD, BPharm, MBA, MRPharmS
Directeur du groupe Science et Technlologie

 

 

 

1. Khoudigian S, Kowal S, Suggett J, D. C. Cost-effectiveness of the Aerobika* oscillating positive expiratory pressure device in the management of COPD exacerbations. International journal of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. 2017;In Press.
2. Global strategy for the diagnosis, management and prevention of COPD, Global Initiative for Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease (GOLD) 2017.
3. Khakban A, Sin DD, FitzGerald JM, et al. The Projected Epidemic of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease Hospitalizations over the Next 15 Years. A Population-based Perspective. Am J Respir Crit Care Med. 2017;195(3):287-291.
4. Puhan MA, Chandra D, Mosenifar Z, et al. The minimal important difference of exercise tests in severe COPD. Eur Respir J. 2011;37(4):784-790.
5. Guerrero M, Crisafulli E, Liapikou A, et al. Readmission for Acute Exacerbation within 30 Days of Discharge Is Associated with a Subsequent Progressive Increase in Mortality Risk in COPD Patients: A Long-Term Observational Study. PLoS One. 2016;11(3):e0150737.
6. Guarascio AJ, Ray SM, Finch CK, Self TH. The clinical and economic burden of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease in the USA. Clinicoecon Outcomes Res. 2013;5:235-245.
7. Shah T, Press VG, Huisingh-Scheetz M, White SR. COPD Readmissions: Addressing COPD in the Era of Value-based Health Care. Chest. 2016;150(4):916-926.
8. Svenningsen S, Paulin GA, Sheikh K, et al. Oscillatory Positive Expiratory Pressure in Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease. COPD. 2016;13(1):66-74.
9. Burudpakdee C, Seetasith A, Dunne P, et al. A real-world study of 30-day exacerbation outcomes in chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) patient managed with Aerobika OPEP. Pulmonary Therapeutics. 2017.
10. Meyer A and Suggett J. A Laboratory Assessment into the Efficiency and Effectiveness of Different Oscillating Positive Expiratory Pressure Devices by Means of Patient Simulated Expiratory Waveforms. Presented at CHEST 2017.

Publiées dans PressAerobika*COPD

November 8, 2017

Significant cost reduction in COPD care with simple, drug-free device

Aerobika* device proves to be a cost-effective treatment option in the management of post-exacerbation COPD patients.

The Aerobika* device (Trudell Medical International) is a cost-effective treatment option in the management of COPD exacerbations, according to a study published October 20th in the International Journal of COPD.1 This study, which used data from the published literature and national fee schedules to model the cost-effectiveness of the Aerobika* device, shows that it provides both clinical benefit and direct medical cost savings in a post-exacerbation care COPD population.

COPD is a major (and growing) source of morbidity, mortality and healthcare utilization, with hospitalization for acute exacerbations being the biggest cost driver.2 Once a patient experiences an exacerbation, the risk of further exacerbation is increased two- to four-fold3, and many patients experience two or three exacerbations every year.4 As many as one in five patients discharged from hospital following an exacerbation are re-admitted within 30 days.5

The economic burden on the healthcare system associated with COPD is significant; in the US alone, the cost of COPD in 2010 was estimated to be US $50 billion; $30 billion in direct healthcare expenditure, with the remainder accounted for by indirect costs such as productivity losses and costs to families.6 Approximately half of the direct costs could be accounted for by hospital care for COPD exacerbations,6 which supports the GOLD guideline treatment goals of minimizing the negative impact of exacerbations and preventing recurrences.2 Healthcare systems in many countries acknowledge the problem, and policies are now being put in place to try to address it; the US Medicare Hospital Readmission Reduction Program penalizes hospitals for excess 30-day, all-cause readmissions after a hospitalization for an acute exacerbation of COPD.7

The Aerobika* device is a drug-free, handheld mechanical oscillating positive expiratory pressure (OPEP) device that has been designed to address the structural and functional challenges in the airways of patients with COPD. When the patient exhales through the device, it helps to expand the airways, loosen and expel mucus from the lungs and may also enhance drug deposition. It has been shown to improve lung function, exercise capacity and quality of life in COPD patients,8 and a recent real-word study showed that the device reduced exacerbation rates in patients during the critical 30-day post-exacerbation period.9 Using data from the latter study to provide real-world input, the authors of this current analysis showed cost savings ($553 per patient) and improved outcomes (equivalent to 6 fewer exacerbations per 100 patients per year) with the Aerobika* device compared with no OPEP/PEP use, and concluded that the device provides cost-effective treatment for post-exacerbation COPD patients.

The authors also used various scenarios to investigate the likelihood of the benefit continuing over a full year, and predicted further clinical and cost benefits (21 exacerbations per 100 patients per year; cost savings of $1,952 per patient). Author Dominic Coppolo, MBA, RRT, FAARC, Vice President Clinical Strategy and Development noted, “Our model provides evidence of clinical and cost benefits of the Aerobika* device in that critical 30-day period following an exacerbation. Given the high burden of COPD – in particular, costs relating to exacerbations – in the US population, we would expect that even a small benefit would have a significant impact on the healthcare system”. He went on to say that, although further studies would be needed to validate the long-term effectiveness, these data also give a good indication that the benefits will be sustained with long-term use.

“With the increasing pressure to improve care and reduce hospital admissions, the previously-published real-world study showing exacerbation reductions in the critical 30-day post exacerbation period gave us useful insights into the benefits of integrating the Aerobika* device into standard clinical practice”, noted Dr Jason Suggett (Group Director of Global Science and Technology, TMI). “This new analysis now gives us clear evidence that such clinical benefits would be translated into cost-effectiveness in this post-exacerbation population. Moreover, we just presented new data at CHEST 2017 demonstrating that the proprietary pressure/oscillation engine of the Aerobika* device efficiently generates oscillations throughout a high percentage of each exhaled breath, and with consistently high pressure amplitudes. The Aerobika* device demonstrated efficient and effective performance related to therapeutic effectiveness nearly twice that of other devices tested.” 10

About Trudell Medical International (TMI)

Trudell Medical International designs, develops, manufactures, and distributes a wide range of medical devices and is home to a global Aerosol Lab and Research Centre. From the flagship AeroChamber* Brand of Valved Holding Chamber (VHC) and the latest award-winning Aerobika* device, to custom designed products and systems, our best-in-class respiratory management products have been sold in over 110 countries. Their efficacy has been validated in hundreds of peer-reviewed articles from various medical journals. 

About the Aerobika* device

The Aerobika* device is a hand-held, robust, easy-to-use, drug-free oscillating positive expiratory pressure (OPEP) device designed to help expel mucus from the lungs, expand airways and enhance drug deposition. When the patient exhales through the device, intermittent resistance creates a unique pressure-oscillation dynamic, which expands the airways, helps expel the mucus to the upper airways where it can be coughed out. The Aerobika* device is designed to function independent of angle of use or flow rate, and allows for a direct aerosol pathway for patients using a nebulizer for medication delivery. The Aerobika* device has been shown to significantly improve forced vital capacity (FVC), 6-min walk distance (6MWD), and St. George's Respiratory Questionnaire (SGRQ) score in COPD patients.8 The Aerobika* device is available in Canada, Mexico, and select European countries including the UK and Germany through Trudell Medical International and in the US via Monaghan Medical Corporation.

About the study

A one-year Markov model was used to estimate the cost-effectiveness of the Aerobika* device in patients who had experienced an exacerbation in the previous month, or a post-exacerbation care population, with input data from the published literature and national fee schedules. Using a base-case assumption that the benefit of the Aerobika* device would last 30 days, cost-savings ($553 per patient) and improved outcomes (ie, 6 fewer exacerbations per 100 patients per year) were demonstrated when compared with no OPEP/positive expiratory pressure use. Assuming a scenario with effect beyond the conservative 30 day time frame, the Aerobika* device continued to show benefit (21 exacerbations per 100 patients per year; cost savings of $1,952 per patient). One-way sensitivity analyses were conducted for all input variables, increasing or decreasing the effect by 20%, to determine the impact of change on costs and health effects; the results supported the robustness of the base-case conclusions.

For clinical inquiries, please contact:
Jason Suggett PhD, BPharm, MBA, MRPharmS
Group Director of Global Science and Technology

 

 

 

1. Khoudigian S, Kowal S, Suggett J, D. C. Cost-effectiveness of the Aerobika* oscillating positive expiratory pressure device in the management of COPD exacerbations. International journal of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. 2017;In Press.
2. Global strategy for the diagnosis, management and prevention of COPD, Global Initiative for Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease (GOLD) 2017.
3. Khakban A, Sin DD, FitzGerald JM, et al. The Projected Epidemic of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease Hospitalizations over the Next 15 Years. A Population-based Perspective. Am J Respir Crit Care Med. 2017;195(3):287-291.
4. Puhan MA, Chandra D, Mosenifar Z, et al. The minimal important difference of exercise tests in severe COPD. Eur Respir J. 2011;37(4):784-790.
5. Guerrero M, Crisafulli E, Liapikou A, et al. Readmission for Acute Exacerbation within 30 Days of Discharge Is Associated with a Subsequent Progressive Increase in Mortality Risk in COPD Patients: A Long-Term Observational Study. PLoS One. 2016;11(3):e0150737.
6. Guarascio AJ, Ray SM, Finch CK, Self TH. The clinical and economic burden of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease in the USA. Clinicoecon Outcomes Res. 2013;5:235-245.
7. Shah T, Press VG, Huisingh-Scheetz M, White SR. COPD Readmissions: Addressing COPD in the Era of Value-based Health Care. Chest. 2016;150(4):916-926.
8. Svenningsen S, Paulin GA, Sheikh K, et al. Oscillatory Positive Expiratory Pressure in Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease. COPD. 2016;13(1):66-74.
9. Burudpakdee C, Seetasith A, Dunne P, et al. A real-world study of 30-day exacerbation outcomes in chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) patient managed with Aerobika OPEP. Pulmonary Therapeutics. 2017.
10. Meyer A and Suggett J. A Laboratory Assessment into the Efficiency and Effectiveness of Different Oscillating Positive Expiratory Pressure Devices by Means of Patient Simulated Expiratory Waveforms. Presented at CHEST 2017.

Posted in NewsAerobika*COPD