novembre 30, 2017

Une étude marquante montre que le choix du dispositif a un impact sur la maîtrise de l’asthme

Une étude pragmatique marquante portant sur plus de 18 000 patients a montré que la chambre de retenue valvée (CRV ou dispositif d’espacement) antistatique AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* permet une meilleure maîtrise de l’asthme que les autres dispositifs.1 Pour les asthmatiques, et en particulier les enfants, le choix du dispositif pour inhaler le traitement est une considération importante; même avec le même aérosol-doseur (MDI), toutes les chambres de retenue valvées ne fonctionnent pas aussi bien les unes que les autres.2 Selon l’étude publiée dans Pulmonary Therapy, la chambre antistatique AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* a permis à ses utilisateurs de connaitre une première exacerbation plus tardive par rapport aux utilisateurs d’autres produits. Ils ont aussi effectué moins de visites à l’urgence et ont dépensé moins d’argent pour leur condition par rapport aux autres.

L’asthme est une affection respiratoire courante qui touche plus de 3 millions de Canadiens. C’est la maladie chronique la plus répandue chez les enfants et l’une des principales causes d’hospitalisation.3,4 Au Canada, plus de 70 000 consultations aux urgences étaient dues aux crises d’asthme en 2016.5 Le taux de mortalité est élevé, puisque 250 Canadiens meurent chaque année de l’asthme et presque tous ces décès pourraient être évités.6 L’inhalation est le mode d’administration recommandée pour les traitements contre l’asthme. Elle permet l’envoi direct du médicament dans les poumons et les effets secondaires sont moindres qu’avec les traitements généraux. Les corticostéroïdes en inhalation (ICS) et les bronchodilatateurs administrés par MDI sont les piliers d’un traitement de l’asthme à long terme, dont les objectifs sont d’atténuer les symptômes et de prévenir la survenue d’exacerbations.7 Malheureusement, les mauvaises techniques d’inhalation sont courantes : une partie du médicament n’atteint pas les poumons et se dépose au fond de la gorge avant d’être avalée.8 Il a été démontré que 9 Canadiens asthmatiques sur 10 ne maîtrisent pas leurs symptômes.9 Entre 28 et 68 % des patients n’utilisent pas leurs inhalateurs suffisamment bien pour profiter du traitement prescrit.10 En outre, 25 % de toutes les dépenses consacrées aux inhalateurs sont gaspillées en raison d’une mauvaise technique d’inhalation.10

Les directives mondiales sur les maladies respiratoires recommandent l’utilisation de chambres afin d’améliorer l’administration de médicaments par MDI.7 La Société canadienne de thoracologie et les Canadian Paediatric Asthma Consensus Guidelines indiquent que l’ajout d’une chambre est recommandé et efficace.11,12 Les études montrent que les patients qui utilisent une chambre avec le MDI maîtrisent mieux leur asthme que ceux qui n’utilisent que l’aérosol-doseur.13 Il a été prouvé que les chambres réduisent les dépôts oropharyngés en modifiant la taille des particules de l’aérosol inhalé et en maintenant le produit dans la chambre jusqu’à ce que le patient soit prêt à inhaler, limitant la nécessité de coordonner l’inspiration et l’activation de l’inhalateur.14 L’efficacité de ces dispositifs peut être affectée par leur conception, notamment la charge électrostatique de la chambre, une cause fréquemment mentionnée d’administration inégale du traitement.15

Dans cette nouvelle étude, le Dr. Burudpakdee et ses collègues ont comparé les effets de la CRV antistatique AeroChamber* Flow-Vu* et des chambres de contrôle sur les résultats des traitements, l’utilisation des ressources et le coût des soins chez une population asthmatique réelle.1 Plus de 18 000 patients ont été étudiés au sein d’une base de données contenant les demandes de remboursement de frais médicaux et de pharmacie de plus de 150 millions d’assurés américains.1 L’analyse à montré que parmi les patients ayant bénéficié d’au moins 30 jours de suivi, la première exacerbation était retardée pour ceux qui utilisaient la CRV antistatique AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu*, avec moins de consultations aux urgences dues à l’asthme et de frais liés aux exacerbations, par rapport à ceux qui utilisaient les chambres de contrôle (non antistatiques).1 Une tendance à la réduction des taux d’exacerbation s’est confirmée au cours des 12 mois de l’étude pour les patients utilisant la CRV AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu*.1

« Cette étude décisive fondée sur un grand nombre de données concrètes issues de milliers de patients a prouvé l’intérêt d’optimiser l’administration des médicaments dans la gestion de l’asthme, » a déclaré le Dr Andrew McIvor, (Firestone Institute of Respiratory Health, St. Joseph’s Healthcare, Hamilton, Ontatio, et ancien président du Comité sur l’asthme de la Société canadienne de thoracologie). « La réduction des exacerbations chez les utilisateurs de la chambre AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* est particulièrement remarquable, car l’exacerbation est un facteur de risque de crises ultérieures, et minimiser le risque d’exacerbation est un objectif fondamental des traitements selon les recommandations de l’Initiative mondiale contre l’asthme (GINA). »

Le coauteur, Dr Jason Suggett (Directeur du groupe Science et technologie mondiales, Trudell Medical International) a déclaré que l’étude montre en outre que les chambres ne sont pas interchangeables. « En 2009, l’Agence européenne des médicaments a recommandé la conception d’un MDI qui devrait inclure le test d’au moins une chambre spécifique, et que tout remplacement devrait être justifié par des données cliniques ou in vitro adéquates démontrant l’équivalence, », a-t-il indiqué. « Nous avons présenté des données de laboratoire au récent congrès Respiratory Drug Delivery Europe2 qui confirmaient que toutes les chambres ne sont pas aussi efficaces avec le même MDI, ce qui souligne l’importance de mesurer l’impact et les risques potentiels de remplacer un dispositif par un autre. »

 

À propos de Trudell Medical International (TMI)

Trudell Medical International conçoit, développe, fabrique et distribue un large éventail de dispositifs médicaux et héberge un Laboratoire et centre de recherche mondial sur les aérosols. De la marque phare de chambres de retenue valvées (CRV) AeroChamberMD au dernier dispositif primé Aerobika*, en passant par les produits et systèmes conçus sur mesure, nos produits destinés à la prise en charge des problèmes respiratoires sont les meilleurs de leur catégorie et se vendent dans plus de 110 pays. Leur efficacité a été validée dans des centaines d’articles évalués par des pairs parus dans diverses revues médicales.

Au sujet de la marque AeroChamber* de chambres de retenue valvées (CRV), dont la chambre antistatique AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu*

Développée en 1983 pour répondre aux besoins des patients atteints d’asthme et de MPOC qui avaient du mal à prendre correctement leurs médicaments avec l’aérosol-doseur, la marque de chambres AeroChamber* n’a cessé d’innover pour faciliter l’utilisation par les patients, améliorer leur qualité de vie, mais aussi pour améliorer les résultats cliniques et les finances du système de santé.

  • La marque AeroChamber Plus* est le chef de file mondial des chambres, dont l’innocuité et l’efficacité ont été établies par de nombreuses évaluations cliniques indépendantes portant sur divers groupes de patients ; c’est la chambre la plus recommandée par les plus grands fabricants pharmaceutiques d’aérosols-doseurs.
  • AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* est une chambre antistatique conçue pour administrer la dose prescrite avec l’aérosols-doseurs, d’une manière similaire à l’utilisation parfaite de celui-ci. L’intégration de l’indicateur de débit d’inhalation Flow-Vu* est une fonctionnalité supplémentaire qui permet à la personne administrant les soins de contrôler l’efficacité de l’inhalation. Une étude récente a montré une nette amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes administrant les soins avec la chambre AeroChamber Plus* dotée de l’indicateur Flow-Vu* par rapport à la même chambre sans indicateur. L’indicateur Flow-Vu* offre des informations en temps réel pour confirmer que l’inhalation a été effectuée efficacement. Il assure qu’aucun air ambiant ne pénètre dans l’espace entre le masque et le visage, ce qui pourrait empêcher l’inhalation du médicament.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus.

À propos de l’étude

Les données de plus de 18 000 patients diagnostiqués asthmatiques ont été analysées au sein de la QuintilesIMS Real-World Data Adjudicated Claims Database (PharMetrics Plus) entre janvier 2010 et août 2015; dont 9 325 utilisant la CRV antistatique AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* et un groupe de contrôle assorti par coefficient de propension utilisant 9 325 CRV non antistatiques. L’étude a comparé les taux d’incidence (TI) des exacerbations, la durée avant la première exacerbation au moyen de l’estimateur de Kaplan-Meier, ainsi que l’utilisation des ressources médicales et les coûts.

  • Le taux d’incidence des exacerbations pour 100 jours-personnes (95 % CI) était considérablement plus élevé chez les sujets utilisant les dispositifs de contrôle que chez ceux utilisant la chambre antistatique (0,161 [0,150-0,172] contre 1,137 [0,128-0,147]) ; en outre, dans le groupe utilisant la chambre antistatique, plus de patients furent exempts d’exacerbation.
  • Dans chaque groupe, 4 293 patients furent suivis pendant plus de 12 mois, période au cours de laquelle une tendance à l’exacerbation plus faible (10-12 %) a été observée chez les sujets utilisant la CRV antistatique. Moins de consultations aux urgences ont été observées chez les patients utilisant la CRV antistatique que chez ceux du groupe de contrôle (10,8 % contre 12,4 %).
  • • Les coûts liés aux exacerbations dans le groupe utilisant la CRV antistatique étaient 23 %, 25 %, 20 % et 12 % inférieurs à ceux du groupe utilisant le dispositif de contrôle après 1, 6, 9 et 12 mois, respectivement.

 

Pour tout renseignement médical, veuillez communiquer avec :
Jason Suggett PhD, BPharm, MBA, MRPharmS
Directeur du groupe Science et Technlologie

 

 

* marques de commerce et marques déposées de Trudell Medical International © TMI 2017. Tous droits réservés

Références

1.Burudpakdee C, Kushnarev V, Coppolo D, Suggett J. A retrospective study of the effectiveness of the AeroChamber Plus® Flow-Vu® Antistatic Valved Holding Chamber for asthma control. Pulmonary Therapy. 2017. https://doi.org/10.1007/s41030-017-0047-1. Accessed July 14.
2. Nagel MW, Suggett JA. Equivalence evaluation of valved holding chambers (VHCs) with albuterol pressurized metered dose inhaler (pMDI). Respiratory Drug Delivery Europe; April 25-28, 2017, 2017; Nice, France.
3. Conference Board of Canada (2012), Cost Risk Analysis for Chronic Lung Disease in Canada.
4. Asthma Society of Canada. http://www.asthma.ca/adults/about/asthma_facts_and_statistics.pdf
5. Canadian Institute for Health Information: Asthma Emergency Department Visits: Volume and Median Length of Stay. 2014-2015.
6. Asthma Society of Canada. http://www.asthma.ca/adults/about/asthma_facts_and_statistics.pdf
7. Global Initiative for Asthma: Global strategy for asthma management and prevention, 2017 Available from: . http://ginasthma.org/2017-gina-report-global-strategy-for-asthma-management-and-prevention/ Accessed November 2017.
8. Price D, Bosnic-Anticevich S, Briggs A, et al. Inhaler competence in asthma: common errors, barriers to use and recommended solutions. Respiratory Medicine. 2013;107(1):37-46.
9. The Lung Association, Asthma Control in Canada Survey 2016
10. Fink JB, Rubin BK. Problems With Inhaler Use: A Call for Improved Clinician and Patient Education. Respir Care 2005;50(10):1360–74.
11. Becker A, Bérubé D, et al. Canadian Pediatric Asthma Consensus Guidelines, 2003 (updated to December 2004) JAMC. 2005; 173(6)
12. Lougheed, M D, Lemière C, et al. Canadian Thoracic Society Asthma Management Continuum – 2010 Consensus Summary for children six years of age and over, and adults
13. Levy ML, et al. Asthma patient’s inability to use a pressurized metered-dose inhaler (pMDI) correctly correlates with poor asthma control as defined by the Global Initiative for Asthma (GINA) strategy: a retrospective analysis. Prim Care Respir J. 2013; Dec;22(4):406-11
14. Lavorini F, Fontana GA. Targeting drugs to the airways: The role of spacer devices. Expert opinion on drug delivery. 2009;6(1):91-102.
15. Mitchell JP, Coppolo DP, Nagel MW. Electrostatics and inhaled medications: influence on delivery via pressurized metered-dose inhalers and add-on devices. Respiratory care. 2007;52(3):283-300.
16. Ammari WG, et al. Evaluation of asthma control, parents’ quality of life and preference between AeroChamber Plus and AeroChamber Plus Flow-Vu spacers in young children with asthma. J Asthma 2015; 52(3):301-7.

November 30, 2017

Landmark asthma study demonstrates device choice determines asthma control

A landmark real-world study of more than 18,000 patients has demonstrated superior asthma control with the AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* antistatic Valved Holding Chamber (VHC, or spacer) compared with other chamber devices.1 For those with asthma, particularly children, the choice of device to deliver their medication is an important consideration; even with the same metered-dose inhaler (MDI), not all valved holding chambers perform equally well.2 According to the study published in Pulmonary Therapy, the AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* antistatic chamber was associated with delayed time to first exacerbation, fewer asthma related emergency department visits, and lower exacerbation-related costs than control chambers.

Asthma is a common respiratory condition which affects more than 3 million people in Canada, and it is the most common chronic disease among children and a leading cause of hospitalizations. 3,4 In Canada there were more than 70,000 emergency room visits due to asthma attacks in 2016.5 Mortality is high, 250 Canadians die each year from asthma and almost all of these deaths are preventable.6 Inhalation is the recommended route of administration for asthma medications; it provides direct targeting of drug to the lungs, and side effects are reduced compared with systemic medications. Inhaled corticosteroids (ICS) and bronchodilators administered by MDIs are the mainstay of long-term asthma treatment, the goals of which are to improve symptoms and prevent the occurrence of exacerbations.7 Unfortunately, poor inhaler technique is common, resulting in less of the delivered drug reaching the lungs, with much of it being deposited on the back of the throat and then swallowed.8 It has been found 9 out of 10 Canadians with asthma don’t have their symptoms under control.9 Between 28% and 68% of patients do not use their inhalers well enough to benefit from the prescribed medication. In addition, 25% of all expenditure on inhalers is wasted due to poor inhaler technique.10

Global respiratory guidelines recommend the use of chambers to improve MDI drug delivery.7 The Canadian Thoracic Society and Canadian Paediatric Asthma Consensus Guidelines state the addition of a chamber is recommended and helpful.11,12 Studies indicate that patients who use a chamber with their MDI have better asthma control than those using only a MDI.13 Chambers were designed to reduce the oropharyngeal deposition by changing the particle size distribution of the inhaled aerosol, and by holding the aerosol in the chamber until the patient is ready to inhale, which reduces the need for good coordination between inhalation and inhaler actuation.14 Effectiveness of these devices can be adversely affected by the design, including the chamber electrostatic charge, a commonly reported cause of inconsistent medication delivery.15

In this new study, Dr. Burudpakdee and colleagues compared the effects of the antistatic AeroChamber* Flow-Vu* VHC and control chambers on treatment outcomes, resource use, and healthcare costs in a real-world asthma population.1 Over 18,000 patients were included from an adjudicated claims database containing medical and pharmacy claims for more than 150 million US health plan members.1 The analysis showed that amongst patients with at least 30 days of follow up, for those using the AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* antistatic VHC time to first exacerbation was delayed, there were fewer asthma-related emergency room visits and exacerbation-related costs were lower when compared to those using the control (non-antistatic) chambers.1 A trend towards lower exacerbation rates per patient for the AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* VHC was sustained throughout the 12 months of the study.1

“This landmark study using a large volume of real-world evidence generated from many thousands of patients shows the value of optimizing drug delivery in asthma management,” said Dr. Andrew McIvor, (Firestone Institute of Respiratory Health, St. Joseph's Healthcare, Hamilton ON and past chairman of the Asthma Committee of the Canadian Thoracic Society). “The reduction in exacerbation incidence among users of the AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* chamber is particularly notable, because experiencing an exacerbation is a risk factor for future exacerbation events – and minimizing exacerbation risk is a key goal of treatment in the GINA guidelines.”

Co-author, Dr Jason Suggett (Group Director of Global Science and Technology, Trudell Medical International) said that the study also further supports the fact that chambers are not interchangeable. “The European Medicines Agency recommended in 2009 that development of a MDI should include the testing of at least one specific named chamber, and that any substitution must be supported by appropriate in vitro or clinical data demonstrating equivalence”, he commented. “We presented laboratory data at the recent Respiratory Drug Delivery Europe meeting2 that confirmed that not all chambers perform equally well with the same MDI, which underlines the importance of recognizing the impact and potential risks of substituting one device for another.”

 

About Trudell Medical International (TMI)

Trudell Medical International designs, develops, manufactures, and distributes a wide range of medical devices and is home to a Global Aerosol Lab and Research Center. From the flagship AeroChamber* brand of valved holding chamber (VHC) and the latest award-winning Aerobika* device, to custom designed products and systems, Trudell’s best-in-class respiratory management products have been sold in over 110 countries. Their efficacy has been validated in hundreds of peer-reviewed articles from various medical journals. Learn More 

About AeroChamber* brand of valved holding chambers (VHC), including the AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* antistatic chamber

Developed in 1983 to address the needs of asthma and COPD patients having difficulty in taking their MDI medications correctly, the AeroChamber* brand of chamber has innovated continuously to improve patient ease of use and quality of life as well as clinical outcomes and healthcare system savings.

  • The AeroChamber Plus* is the global leading chamber brand, with safety and efficacy validated in numerous third party clinical evaluations amongst various patient populations; it is the chamber most recommended by leading MDI pharmaceutical companies.
  • AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* chamber is an antistatic chamber designed to deliver the intended prescribed dose via the MDI, similar to using an MDI with perfect technique. An additional feature is the incorporation of the Flow-Vu* inhalation indicator for the care-giver to observe effective inhalation. A recent study showed that caregiver quality of life improved almost four-fold when using the AeroChamber Plus* chamber with the Flow-Vu* indicator versus the same chamber without the indicator.16 The Flow-Vu* indicator provides real time feedback confirming an effective inhalation and ensures that there are no leakages of ambient air into the space between facemask and face, that could prevent medication delivery altogether.

Learn More

About the Study

Data for over 18,000 patients with an asthma diagnosis were analysed from the QuintilesIMS Real-World Data Adjudicated Claims Database (PharMetrics Plus) between 1/2010 and 8/2015; 9,325 using the AeroChamber Plus* Flow-Vu* antistatic VHC and a propensity-matched comparison cohort of 9,325 non-antistatic VHCs. Exacerbation incidence rates (IR), time to first exacerbation using Kaplan-Meier survival analysis, occurrence of exacerbations, and healthcare resource use and costs were compared.

  • Exacerbation IR/100 person-days (95% CI) was significantly higher in the control device cohort than the antistatic chamber cohort (0.161 [0.150-0.172] vs.0.137 [0.128-0.147]); more patients in the antistatic chamber cohort remained exacerbation free.
  • 4,293 patients in each cohort were followed up for ≥12 months and during which there was a trend for patients in the antistatic VHC group to be less likely (10-12%) to experience an exacerbation. Fewer patients using the antistatic VHC had an ED visit compared with those in the control group (10.8% vs. 12.4%).
  • Exacerbation-related costs for the antistatic VHC cohort was 23%, 25%, 20%, and 12% lower than the control device cohort at 1, 6, 9, and 12 months, respectively.

 

See the full study

Download the infographic

 

 

For clinical inquiries, please contact:
Jason Suggett PhD, BPharm, MBA, MRPharmS
Group Director of Global Science and Technology

 

 

* trade-marks and registered trade-marks of Trudell Medical International © TMI 2017. All rights reserved.

References

1.Burudpakdee C, Kushnarev V, Coppolo D, Suggett J. A retrospective study of the effectiveness of the AeroChamber Plus® Flow-Vu® Antistatic Valved Holding Chamber for asthma control. Pulmonary Therapy. 2017. https://doi.org/10.1007/s41030-017-0047-1. Accessed July 14.
2. Nagel MW, Suggett JA. Equivalence evaluation of valved holding chambers (VHCs) with albuterol pressurized metered dose inhaler (pMDI). Respiratory Drug Delivery Europe; April 25-28, 2017, 2017; Nice, France.
3. Conference Board of Canada (2012), Cost Risk Analysis for Chronic Lung Disease in Canada.
4. Asthma Society of Canada. http://www.asthma.ca/adults/about/asthma_facts_and_statistics.pdf
5. Canadian Institute for Health Information: Asthma Emergency Department Visits: Volume and Median Length of Stay. 2014-2015.
6. Asthma Society of Canada. http://www.asthma.ca/adults/about/asthma_facts_and_statistics.pdf
7. Global Initiative for Asthma: Global strategy for asthma management and prevention, 2017 Available from: . http://ginasthma.org/2017-gina-report-global-strategy-for-asthma-management-and-prevention/ Accessed November 2017.
8. Price D, Bosnic-Anticevich S, Briggs A, et al. Inhaler competence in asthma: common errors, barriers to use and recommended solutions. Respiratory Medicine. 2013;107(1):37-46.
9. The Lung Association, Asthma Control in Canada Survey 2016
10. Fink JB, Rubin BK. Problems With Inhaler Use: A Call for Improved Clinician and Patient Education. Respir Care 2005;50(10):1360–74.
11. Becker A, Bérubé D, et al. Canadian Pediatric Asthma Consensus Guidelines, 2003 (updated to December 2004) JAMC. 2005; 173(6)
12. Lougheed, M D, Lemière C, et al. Canadian Thoracic Society Asthma Management Continuum – 2010 Consensus Summary for children six years of age and over, and adults
13. Levy ML, et al. Asthma patient’s inability to use a pressurized metered-dose inhaler (pMDI) correctly correlates with poor asthma control as defined by the Global Initiative for Asthma (GINA) strategy: a retrospective analysis. Prim Care Respir J. 2013; Dec;22(4):406-11
14. Lavorini F, Fontana GA. Targeting drugs to the airways: The role of spacer devices. Expert opinion on drug delivery. 2009;6(1):91-102.
15. Mitchell JP, Coppolo DP, Nagel MW. Electrostatics and inhaled medications: influence on delivery via pressurized metered-dose inhalers and add-on devices. Respiratory care. 2007;52(3):283-300.
16. Ammari WG, et al. Evaluation of asthma control, parents’ quality of life and preference between AeroChamber Plus and AeroChamber Plus Flow-Vu spacers in young children with asthma. J Asthma 2015; 52(3):301-7.